Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory




  • Kennedy Assassination, Flu Shot Virus, Big Foot, Lochness Monster, Beatles Hoax, Michael Jackson, Princess Diana, Moon landing, and many more.

    Conspiracy Archives




  • We visit all the "Greasy Spoon" restaurants around the country rating each experience. Featuring Las Vegas, Chicago, San Francisco, Gatlinburg, Houston, New York, Youngstown.

    Blue Plate Special




  • 1960's Catholic grade school with mean Nuns as teachers was a recipe of pure Hell. I knew my mission in life the day I pulled Sister Ann Teresa’s habit off her head. I had to know what secret treasures lay hidden beneath.

    Catholic Nuns




  • Sexy Giant Aliens are roaming the Earth plotting to enslave humanity. View photographic proof Giant Aliens have already infiltrated the population.

    Giant Alien Invasion




  • We pay homage to the sexy actresses and their cleavage who starred in science fiction movies and television series.

    Sci-Fi Sexy Sirens




  • The LOTGK logo can be found all over the world. Even on a sexy girls ass.

    Find The Logo




  • Humorous personal life stories of the past, present, and future from a 50 plus year old who has seen everything. Almost!

    Inner Sanctum




  • Random tidbits of worthy news and photographs that don’t quite fit into any of the Grassy Knoll Institutes categories.

    Random Shots




  • Sometimes a picture is worth a thousands words. If they were only worth money!

    Postcards Edge




  • Rantings of a mad die hard Viking fan. No purple colored glasses for this fan.

    Viking thunder Rant




  • Classic vinyl record albums rescued from my basement. See what you have been missing.

    Classic Vinyl Records




  • Once a thriving vacation resort and young adult get-a-way spot, has succumbed to erosion. From the once beautiful beach to the town and businesses that dot the once vibrant strip.

    Geneva On The Lake




  • Brutal clips of faces of death, reckless driving, experiments documented, grass growing, public hangings, live executions, and clips of UFO’s flying above.

    Video Vault




  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 90 other subscribers



  • Grassy Knoll Institute. Home of the 99 cent conspiracy theory. We keep overhead and expenses low to provide more affordable and better tasting conspiracy theories for our readers. Hurry, supplies are limited at these prices. And quit calling me Shirley.
    Gatlinburg Guide
  • Random Hits

    • 4,750,986 Satisfied Surfers Since 10/06/2007
  • Current Hot Stories

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Time Travel

Lost Update – Trapped Again

Posted by LOTGK on April 23, 2007

lost trapped again

Season III
Lost Update 04/23/2007

A Special Bonus Lost Update!

Three weeks ago on April Fools day, I posted a Lost Update associating song lyrics by the rock group Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young and stated a theory that the song lyrics of their albums told the tale of Lost. That the “Others” were second generation hippies living the life that their parents envisioned. The entire theory and boatload of comments can be found here.

Lost Update Deja Vu

Also, if you go back to the pilot episode update to the most current, I titled each with a song title and a snippet of lyrics that went along with each episode. I found it odd how the lyrics fit so well for each episode. I merely felt it was a coincidence until while at my office listening to my CD collection, an old song by Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes came on. The title of the song was Trapped Again, written by Bruce Springsteen and it detailed Desmonds life and Wednesdays episode amazingly accurate. So much so that I am adding this theory to the Lost Update page.

Perhaps the producers and writers of Lost are using song lyrics to fill the back stories of each character and move the show in a direction powered by song titles and lyrics. You be the judge. Following are the lyrics to Trapped Again and my explanation in bold. Hold on, it’s a great ride.

Trapped Again

Here I am, baby, right where you found me
Trying to break these chains that surround me
If I look a little different it’s ’cause I’ve changed
Half-painted pictures are all that remains

Lets start off with the title, Trapped Again. Desmond, as we all know, is trapped on the island. He has escaped several times but always winds up back on the island, trapped again.

The first two lines describes Desmonds plight on the island. Desmond knows what’s happening on the island, he sees it in flashes and he tries to break the cycle, or the chains of what surrounds him. He saves Charlie’s life time and time again in hopes of changing the course, to break free, break the chains.

The third line describes Desmond and his time on the island exactly. He has been there three years. In his flashbacks, we see that he looks differently, as a monk, at a job interview with Penny’s father, and ring shopping. His life has also changed, not in physical appearance but mentally as well.

The fourth line, well, it describes the picture Desmond has of him and Penny, the one he carries with him, and it’s all that he has left of his life with Penny.

Hopefully, you are following along and understanding my interpretation so far. it gets much better. I promise.

I can’t let my past mistakes, let ’em bring me down
I ain’t waitin’ on no angel of mercy
I tried my best and I can’t help myself

The above verse speaks of Desmonds mistakes of the past, running out on his engagement, leaving the monastery, and his breakup with Penny. He is fighting his demons and hoping that Penny finds him or that he escapes the island. He is not waiting for rescue, or the angel of mercy, and as much as he tries, he just cannot help himself.

I’m trapped again
I can’t get out without losing you
I’m trapped again
Why can’t you feel what I’m going through?
I’m trapped again
I need an answer, girl, can’t you see?
I’m trapped again
Come and rescue me

The chorus speaks volumes. I’m trapped again, just as Desmond is destined to relive the events on the island again and again. This is why he knows what the future hold in store. As if he is in a game and he is reset again and again back to the beginning to correct his mistakes.

Second verse, Desmond realizes that as long as he keeps saving Charlie from certain death, he will continue to lose and be without Penny.

Fourth line, Desmond is frustrated knowing the future but not being able to control the destiny of the others.

Sixth line, Desmond is craving an answer whether Penny is still there for him, and if she has given up hope. He hopes that somehow Penny understands his situation.

Last line, well, what else can this mean. Come and rescue me. Penny is searching for Desmond, she has the means and the ability. And we all know by the season two cliff hanger that she is searching for him and wanting to rescue him.

Monday morning came so fast
What a fool to think that dreams would last
Close my eyes and it’s still so clear
Remember the night, girl, the world disappeared

First two lines, Desmond preparing to meet Penny’s father for the job interview, and all the number coincidences. It was like a dream Desmond was having over and over again. He wanted it to last, to be with Penny for the rest of his life, but knowing her father would never allow it and finally realizing that he would keep getting pulled back to the island.

Third line, Desmond is reliving the time loop he is in. To Desmond, it seems like only yesterday that he was with Penny, and that is why everything is still so clear.

Last line. Desmond tells Hurley, Locke, and the gang that they are all in a snow globe, that there is nothing outside of the island. That the island is the entire world. Sort of like the world has disappeared, as the lyrics state.

Can’t let the hand of fate, let it drag me down
I can’t get no angel of mercy
I came to stay but I got swept away

Desmond understands what is going on. He was taught the lessons of fate, as when he saw the man in the red shoes die, and saving Charlie time and again. He was told he cannot change his destiny. But he keeps on trying, hoping, keeping faith. Not letting the situation drag him down.

The third line tells how he arrived on the island. His boat got wrecked and Desmond got swept away and onto the island. And he’s here to stay.

The rest of the song repeats the chorus twice more and one more bridge repeat. Almost like Desmonds life. Repeating itself. I know this sounds far fetched, but as I mentioned earlier, song titles and lyrics seem to be fitting the Lost castaways, the others, and Desmond.

I wonder what song will be highlighted this coming Wednesday? Until then, Get Lost.

I’m trapped again
I can’t get out without losing you
I’m trapped again
Why can’t you feel what I’m going through?
I’m trapped again
I need an answer, girl, can’t you see?
I’m trapped again
Come and rescue me

Can’t let the hand of fate, let it drag me down
I can’t get no angel of mercy
I came to stay but I got swept away

I’m trapped again
I can’t get out without losing you
I’m trapped again
Why can’t you feel what I’m going through?
I’m trapped again
I need an answer, girl, can’t you see?
I’m trapped again
Come and rescue me

Back To Lost Secrets Revealed Archives

LURKING ON THE GRASSY KNOLL

One Response to “Lost Update – Trapped Again”

  1. LOTGK said

    Previous comments..

    Gumby – Posted 4/23/2007
    Oh God no! Not again. It does make sense however. Just have to find what songs the writers are using.

    LOTGK – Posted 4/23/2007
    Yes Gumby, again. I couldn’t believe it when I heard the lyrics and I thought that maybe they were using song lyrics to write the show.

    Valdunagan – Posted 4/23/2007
    I thought you were rolling with the vr thing, and space ships, and aliens, and the bible belt stuff.

    LOTGK – Posted 4/24/2007
    I am Valdunagan, but when I was listening to this song, it sort of just hit me. Trust me though, the virtual reality theory is still intact.

    The Joker – Posted 4/24/2007
    Can I assume that when you were dating someone and broke up, every song you heard on the radio was about you? You can listen to pretty much any song and make things fit. Purple Haze (obvious link to either the smoke monster or the sky during the anomaly), The Circle of Life (because there are people dying and babies being born, or not), and NWA’s I Wanna F— You (because Sawyer wants to do naughty things with Kate). Stick to the alien observation theory and the allusions to literature, history and the bible…that is what sounds most plausible to me. But what do I know; I’m just some guy on a message board.

    emma – Posted 4/24/2007
    Pretty awesome, it does fit, but then again, Joker hit it right on the nose. You can make any song fit. And no offense, but the vr lab theory is BS, especially the alien part. There are no aliens. That theory is for kids or people with no imagination.

    Max Jackl – Posted 4/24/2007
    Emma, I think I figured out why people pick on you. You are so negative to everyone’s comments. I’ve been reading the Lost updates and you piss and moan about everyone’s theories.
    Case in point, your last comment, calling the theory BS and for kids with no imagination.
    And yet, you continue to return here. Methinks you are a troll looking for trouble. Why not just stay away if you think this is BS.

    LOTGK – Posted 4/24/2007
    Joker, the answer to your question if I thought all the songs were about me. No!
    To refresh your memory, the songs I chose for the Lost updates tie in to the theme of that episode. And let me say once again, the April First update was an April Fools joke. Please read it again.
    About Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes tune, Trapped Again, it is a perfect fit to Desmond and last Wednesdays episode. Notice I didn’t use just one line, as you suggested with Jimi Hendrix and purple Haze as the smoke monster.
    I have used the entire song, not just one line, but the entire song. And I gave detailed explanation. But you are right, you are just some message board guy.

    LOTGK – Posted 4/24/2007
    Emma, I have already proven that you cannot just use any song like Joker and you state to make any song fit. Take any Zanfir tune and apply it to Lost.
    About my theory. I’m sticking to it. I know it makes you mad that you cannot disprove it except by saying its BS. But thats OK, I know you are trying.
    *Snicker*

    Snark – Posted 4/24/2007
    Very impressive. I listened to the song several times, and it does seem to fit nicely. I was also impressed with your Deja Vu post.
    However, I don’t know if the writers would want to pay the royalties to the artists.

    LOTGK – Posted 4/25/2007
    Snark, impressive, but you are not a Jedi Knight yet!!!

    Kabootle – Posted 4/25/2007
    Who are the Asburt Jukes? And what do they have in connection to Lost?

    LOTGK – Posted 4/25/2007
    The Asbury Jukes were a rock and roll band in the 70’s and 80’s. Bruce Springsteen wrote several songs for them with one of them being Trapped Again. What do they have to do with Lost? Probably nothing. If you read my update again, you will see that I found it odd that the lyrics told the tale of Desmond, one of the key characters on the show.

    lemmy101 – Posted 5/11/2007
    Yeah I agree! And Locke’s story is based around Chumbawamba – Tubthumping’s lyrics!
    “I get knocked dow,n but I get up again,
    You’re never gonna keep me down”
    I got it all worked out now! Thank you!

    LOTGK – Posted 5/11/2007
    See, Lemmy ain’t just pissin the night away. he’s on to something.

Leave a Reply: And your argument is

 
Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory

Sladewilson: The War Journal Vol. 2

Entertainment Reviews - Video Games, Music, Television, Movies for the urban warrior... Adult Themes. Parential discretion advised...

Doooh Head

\"They all say Doooh\"

Ahrcanum

Conspiracy, HAARP, Earthquakes, Volcano's, Weather Modification, H1N1, Swine Flu, NWO, Politics, and other hedonistic topical articles from The CEO & Czar of The Committee In My Head. Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead.