Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory




  • Kennedy Assassination, Flu Shot Virus, Big Foot, Lochness Monster, Beatles Hoax, Michael Jackson, Princess Diana, Moon landing, and many more.

    Conspiracy Archives




  • We visit all the "Greasy Spoon" restaurants around the country rating each experience. Featuring Las Vegas, Chicago, San Francisco, Gatlinburg, Houston, New York, Youngstown.

    Blue Plate Special




  • 1960's Catholic grade school with mean Nuns as teachers was a recipe of pure Hell. I knew my mission in life the day I pulled Sister Ann Teresa’s habit off her head. I had to know what secret treasures lay hidden beneath.

    Catholic Nuns




  • Sexy Giant Aliens are roaming the Earth plotting to enslave humanity. View photographic proof Giant Aliens have already infiltrated the population.

    Giant Alien Invasion




  • We pay homage to the sexy actresses and their cleavage who starred in science fiction movies and television series.

    Sci-Fi Sexy Sirens




  • The LOTGK logo can be found all over the world. Even on a sexy girls ass.

    Find The Logo




  • Humorous personal life stories of the past, present, and future from a 50 plus year old who has seen everything. Almost!

    Inner Sanctum




  • Random tidbits of worthy news and photographs that don’t quite fit into any of the Grassy Knoll Institutes categories.

    Random Shots




  • Sometimes a picture is worth a thousands words. If they were only worth money!

    Postcards Edge




  • Rantings of a mad die hard Viking fan. No purple colored glasses for this fan.

    Viking thunder Rant




  • Classic vinyl record albums rescued from my basement. See what you have been missing.

    Classic Vinyl Records




  • Once a thriving vacation resort and young adult get-a-way spot, has succumbed to erosion. From the once beautiful beach to the town and businesses that dot the once vibrant strip.

    Geneva On The Lake




  • Brutal clips of faces of death, reckless driving, experiments documented, grass growing, public hangings, live executions, and clips of UFO’s flying above.

    Video Vault




  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 88 other followers




  • Grassy Knoll Institute. Home of the 99 cent conspiracy theory. We keep overhead and expenses low to provide more affordable and better tasting conspiracy theories for our readers. Hurry, supplies are limited at these prices. And quit calling me Shirley.
    Gatlinburg Guide
  • Random Hits

    • 4,687,841 Satisfied Surfers Since 10/06/2007
  • Current Hot Stories

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Time Travel

Writing My Name In Fire

Posted by LOTGK on October 10, 2007

Don’t play with me cause you’ll play with fire

This is a story of a childhood obsession that had gone terribly wrong.

It was summer. Roughly 1970. I was ten years old. (“Your ten years old again Pip, how can you be ten years old”…..An old classic Twilight Zone episode starring Jack Klugman and Billy Mumy) Anyway, there was a large playground behind my house where we all used to hang out. This playground was huge. It had four full size baseball fields, a football field, and the typical school yard rides like the merry go round, the slide, teeter totters, monkey bars, swings, and other assorted rides. So now you know the place was huge.

During the summer months, the school handyman would cut the field grass every other week or so using a big tractor which would leave in its wake dead cut grass, (This was the 60’s folks, there weren’t any grass catching tractors in those days) which would dry up to a fine straw in a couple of days. At this time, I and several other neighborhood kids would collect the dry grass, gather it up in a big pile, wait until nightfall, and then light it on fire and watch it burn.

The flames reached a good twenty feet as it quickly engulfed the dry grass and you could hear the crackling of the flame as it built to a wonderful pyre into the night sky. Several minutes later the fire would burn up all its fuel and extinguish itself leaving a immense black burn mark. But, as all things in nature, the burn mark would soon be covered by fresh grass and the process would then be repeated.

The local police also took notice of this pyro ritual and soon began to stake out the playground in hopes of catching us in the act. But there were several problems for the police.

One, they couldn’t figure out which nights we would be conducting the next pyro offering. Maybe they should have asked the handyman when he was going to cut the grass next. Then, stake out the next several nights.

Two, the field was so huge it would be almost impossible for the police to sneak up on us. And we made sue that they couldn’t use their police cars to chase us because we would close all the playground fence gates so only people could pass through. Cars wouldn’t fit. They would have to get out and chase us.

Third, escapability. If we did see anyone coming towards us, we would all scatter in many different directions confusing the pursuers allowing us all to escape with ease.

Sometimes, being members of the Daredevils Club, (A subject I will touch upon in latter Inner Sanctum stories) we would hide and evade the police without leaving the playground. We would select hiding places such as under the merry go round, lifting our feet up on the metal frame that held the ride together so when the police spotlight would shine over it, nothing could be seen. Or lying down on the sliding board keeping perfectly still hoping that the sides of the slide would allow enough cover to not be detected.

And if we were feeling really saucy, we would sometimes come out of our hiding spots and yell and then run like hell making the police pursue to no avail.

Over the years, none of us ever got caught. There were a few close calls, but no collars. It was only until one incident that stopped me from the pyro offerings. One day I decided to get really creative and write my name in gasoline and then ignite it so I could see my name lit up in fire. So I intricately spelled out my name, then took a match and lit it up. Man, that was cool. My name on fire. In a minute, the flame was out and so was the evidence. Or so I thought.

There before my eyes was my name burned into the ground. In my own back yard. And my parents were due home in an hour or so. I tried raking the grass out, even tried cutting the grass with the lawnmower. Nothing helped. That evening after my long talk with my parents, (You’re grounded for life, yada yada yada,) I decided to give up the playground pyro offering.

My brother George told me to cover up the evidence, I was to simply add more gas to the area where my name was and to scribble nonsense to hide the letters of my name. He told me about an hour to late.

But I was still in the daredevils club. Something had to give. A more daring stunt was needed. And we just the guys to do it…

But that is another story…

Another legend.

Back To Inner Sanctum Archives

LURKING ON THE GRASSY KNOLL

20 Responses to “Writing My Name In Fire”

  1. Handyman in Jacksonville said

    Your post is very well crafted and I have learned. I’ve added your blog to my reading material. Thanks for the update!

  2. i want my name in fire………

  3. Ravi Prakask said

    Want my name by fire

  4. i want my name should be writeen in fire……… how can it is possible?

  5. by fire or i n fire

  6. i want my name in fire ‘ARSHDEEP SINGH’

  7. Janardhan.jani.96@facebook.com

  8. Anonymous said

    SUNIL JAISWAL

Leave a Reply: And your argument is

 
Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory

Sladewilson: The War Journal Vol. 2

Entertainment Reviews - Video Games, Music, Television, Movies for the urban warrior... Adult Themes. Parential discretion advised...

Doooh Head

\"They all say Doooh\"

Ahrcanum

Conspiracy, HAARP, Earthquakes, Volcano's, Weather Modification, H1N1, Swine Flu, NWO, Politics, and other hedonistic topical articles from The CEO & Czar of The Committee In My Head. Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead.