Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory




  • Kennedy Assassination, Flu Shot Virus, Big Foot, Lochness Monster, Beatles Hoax, Michael Jackson, Princess Diana, Moon landing, and many more.

    Conspiracy Archives




  • We visit all the "Greasy Spoon" restaurants around the country rating each experience. Featuring Las Vegas, Chicago, San Francisco, Gatlinburg, Houston, New York, Youngstown.

    Blue Plate Special




  • 1960's Catholic grade school with mean Nuns as teachers was a recipe of pure Hell. I knew my mission in life the day I pulled Sister Ann Teresa’s habit off her head. I had to know what secret treasures lay hidden beneath.

    Catholic Nuns




  • Sexy Giant Aliens are roaming the Earth plotting to enslave humanity. View photographic proof Giant Aliens have already infiltrated the population.

    Giant Alien Invasion




  • We pay homage to the sexy actresses and their cleavage who starred in science fiction movies and television series.

    Sci-Fi Sexy Sirens




  • The LOTGK logo can be found all over the world. Even on a sexy girls ass.

    Find The Logo




  • Humorous personal life stories of the past, present, and future from a 50 plus year old who has seen everything. Almost!

    Inner Sanctum




  • Random tidbits of worthy news and photographs that don’t quite fit into any of the Grassy Knoll Institutes categories.

    Random Shots




  • Sometimes a picture is worth a thousands words. If they were only worth money!

    Postcards Edge




  • Rantings of a mad die hard Viking fan. No purple colored glasses for this fan.

    Viking thunder Rant




  • Classic vinyl record albums rescued from my basement. See what you have been missing.

    Classic Vinyl Records




  • Once a thriving vacation resort and young adult get-a-way spot, has succumbed to erosion. From the once beautiful beach to the town and businesses that dot the once vibrant strip.

    Geneva On The Lake




  • Brutal clips of faces of death, reckless driving, experiments documented, grass growing, public hangings, live executions, and clips of UFO’s flying above.

    Video Vault




  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 90 other subscribers



  • Grassy Knoll Institute. Home of the 99 cent conspiracy theory. We keep overhead and expenses low to provide more affordable and better tasting conspiracy theories for our readers. Hurry, supplies are limited at these prices. And quit calling me Shirley.
    Gatlinburg Guide
  • Random Hits

    • 4,750,817 Satisfied Surfers Since 10/06/2007
  • Current Hot Stories

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Time Travel

2005 Jeep Liberty

Posted by LOTGK on October 10, 2007

The Grassy Knoll Institute in search of a new vehicle.

I began with the Sunday paper looking through the car dealerships. I wanted a new Jeep Liberty. I pinpointed one perspective dealer that ran an add for a 2005 Liberty Sport 4X4 with V6 engine, air, auto, power windows, doors, seats, CD, alloy wheels, cruise, and tilt all for a mere $19,995.00. The add also states Zero down payment and under invoice. This seemed to be the place to begin. I prepared by getting the value of my trade-in car, a 2002 Chrysler Sebring LX, which is loaded with every option including premium sound and alloy wheels. The Kelly Blur Book report states that the retail value in my area is just over $13,000.00 and the dealer trade-in value is just over $9000.00.

Arriving at Preston Chrysler Jeep on Route 422 in Warren, I was greeted immediately by a salesman named Shane. After several seconds of chit chat, we got down to business and I took a Liberty for a test drive. Satisfied with the vehicle, the infamous “Lets talk deal” was initiated. The service man took my keys to inspect my vehicle while we went to Shane’s cubicle to talk deals. He had me sign a standard agreement that I was intent on buying a vehicle if the deal was right. Shane had trouble using the phone and left the cubicle several times to confer with his manager.

Minutes later, he came out of the managers office with the apparent deal in his hand. He tells me that my payment will only be $489.00 per month for 48 months with $1850.00 as down payment. And oh yea, this is a lease price, not a purchase price. I ask what happened. Shane states that although my car is in good condition, it is only worth 7 grand. I point out that the car has low mileage and is in excellent condition but he says that the car did not retain it’s value and it’s only worth 7 thousand dollars. Shane said he would have to take a hit on the car and eat it because he couldn’t sell it for much more than the 7 grand. That’s when I ask him about the Kelly blue book value. He calls his manager on the phone and asks him with me hearing and the manager said that is where he got the figures.

I did some quick math to determine what he was selling me. $489.00 per month times 48 months equaled $23,472.00 plus the $1850.00 as down payment for a grand total of $25322.00, or roughly $5500.00 over the asking price of the Liberty. And it’s a lease where after four years I would have to give the car back after paying over 25 grand.

At that point, I knew the deal was over but decided to see how far they would go. I then produced my copy of the Kelly Blue book report of the retail value and dealer trade-in value that stated 13 grand retail and 9 grand for trade-in. I asked Shane to have the manager come over. Surprisingly, he did and tried to double talk me saying that we are in Chevy country with all the special “Pep” cars and that the value of trade-ins are very low. I reminded him that we were in a Chrysler dealership and that Chevy’s, Fords, or Toyota’s were not the topic of discussion. My low ball quote for a trade in was. I then asked about his math and how he came about the payment of $489.00 when the add clearly stated zero percent down and zero percent financing for 60 months plus the bonus cash, rebates, and Preston discounts.

I said even without my car as trade-in, the $19995.00 plus sales tax which is approximately $1200.00 for a total cost of $21,195.00 total. Divide that number by 60 for the months of financing and the number is just over $350.00 per month. And that is purchasing, not leasing. Where did the extra $139.00 per month come from, and when did this deal change to a lease deal?

Needless to say, I didn’t buy the Jeep Liberty Monday night. However, I did learn several things in my quest for a new car. One, Chrysler Sebrings do not maintain value. The sticker was over 22 grand for my car and after only two and a half years, it depreciated almost by 70% of it’s value. The Preston salesman said that was typical of the Chrysler cars. Hmmnnnn. Two, it is a huge waste of time to speak with a car salesman for any question or request, they have to go into the managers office and receive approval. Maybe to cut overhead costs, the manager could just come over and tell the salesman and customer right away what the deal is without all the smoke and mirrors.

 

Back To Inner Sanctum Archives

LURKING ON THE GRASSY KNOLL

4 Responses to “2005 Jeep Liberty”

  1. Mimmi said

    contact me by email about a jeep liberty

  2. LOTGK said

    The Jeep Liberty is no longer in our family. we traded it in.

  3. saneg said

    Krosavcheg!!

  4. LOTGK said

    Translation….
    SPAM!!

Leave a Reply: And your argument is

 
Grassy Knoll Institute

Home Of The 99 Cent Conspiracy Theory

Sladewilson: The War Journal Vol. 2

Entertainment Reviews - Video Games, Music, Television, Movies for the urban warrior... Adult Themes. Parential discretion advised...

Doooh Head

\"They all say Doooh\"

Ahrcanum

Conspiracy, HAARP, Earthquakes, Volcano's, Weather Modification, H1N1, Swine Flu, NWO, Politics, and other hedonistic topical articles from The CEO & Czar of The Committee In My Head. Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead.